top of page

Why Choose a Mini Session?

Updated: Oct 3, 2022

You've got questions, I've got answers! I've laid out the main details on mini sessions, why you should book a themed mini, and who mini sessions are made for! At the end, I do a quick breakdown of all the info here!



Well... What is a Mini Session?

Great question! A mini session is a short photo session where my goal is to provide a super fun, laidback, and beautiful experience for you. Typically, the time can range from 15-30 minutes. I like to start with 20-minute mini sessions with my clients booked back-to-back. If I have a 2-hour block of time, I want to schedule a total of 6 sessions.


When you book a mini session with me, I deliver 5 professionally edited images from the shoot. You will have the option to purchase more than that at an extra cost!


For mini sessions, I choose your location for you! This means that the things you need to worry about are as few as possible.

  • 15-20 minute sessions

  • 10 edited images are included with your package price with the option to purchase more

  • Location is already chosen!

Why Should I Book a Mini?

I try to focus on offering mini sessions in different seasons. This includes summer, fall, spring, and winter!


Themed minis are a great way to get some more spunk in your photos and help create some very fun and natural moments! I also love these because it helps shy kiddos and families warm up to getting their pictures taken quite a bit faster. The props that my clients get to use during the session create fun, natural moments that I get to capture!


They are also super great because it drives outfit choices much easier. If you were going to book a fall mini session, you'd dress for the occasion! Just like you would if you were going to book a Christmas mini session or even a Valentine's Day mini session. What you pick to wear is heavily influenced by the theme you book with. This can relieve a lot of stress on families, couples, and anyone who wants to try something a little different.

  • Unique photos

  • The theme can help break the ice

  • Playing with the props helps create natural smiles

  • You'll be able to choose outfits with more ease

Who is a good fit?

Really, anyone who wants to try it out is a good fit! I love meeting you guys and helping you capture precious moments. Here is a quick list of clients that I've found typically enjoy shorter sessions:

  • Previous clients who have shot with me before (maybe they want to update a holiday card)

  • New clients who aren't sure if they want to invest in a full session yet

  • Maternity sessions

  • Families with children that are not mobile yet or under 6 years old

  • Families with older aged children who are cooperative

  • Outgoing families with kiddos who aren't shy

  • Couples that want pictures but don't really like taking pictures (you know who you are!)

  • Quick, individual, unique portrait seekers

  • Groups under 6 people

Who Should Think About a Full Session Instead?

Now, I'm not saying that you should rule out mini sessions. There are some sessions that just require more time than a mini-session allows!

  • Families with extremely shy children

  • A family that wants more control over their location

  • A larger gallery so you capture ALL those beautiful moments!

  • Those who want multiple locations

  • Those who aren't too crunched on time

So why should I book a (themed) mini session with you?

I totally get it, investing in a photoshoot can really seem like a lot! This is especially true when you want more edited images included, more time, different locations, or even different outfits! It feels like the more you want, the more you have to think "Is this worth the money?" Now I can't tell you if you should or should not spend the money. But I can tell you why booking a session with me would be something worth investing in.


Are you a busy family with tight schedules? Are you in a relationship where your partner dreads getting their pictures taken but you still want those pictures? Or are you just straight-up busy? If you fall into any of these, then I'm here for you! I want to give you the most painless, stress-free, and fun experience. I choose your location for you and give you instructions on how to get there. You'll get a reminder email a couple of days before your session and you'll have access to my own tips and tricks on getting ready for it! If there is a theme, you'll know the theme in advance. You'll receive 5 edited images, along with the copyright releases. After 5 images, you'll have the option to purchase more if you wish! You won't need to worry about posing at all, I'll be there to guide you through it all. And, most importantly, we will have FUN! (Boyfriends or husbands that really don't want to be taking pictures at all, I'm looking at you!)

  • Made for the busy family/couple/individual

  • Location Chosen with directions

  • 5 images with copyright release included with the option to choose more

  • Stressfree posing

  • Props to play with, hand-made and curated theme

  • Tips and Tricks/Guides on getting ready for your shoot!

  • Reminder email with last-minute details sent the week of your mini session


Still on the fence about it? Reach out to me today and I would love to answer any questions you have! Down below, you can check out some preview photos of the Summer mini session photos👇🏻




Talk soon,


Grace from Lihong Photography


Comments


bottom of page